New Year’s Eve

I know I’M ready to say au revoir to 2011!

My little family has experienced so much joy, sadness, disappointment and relief in the past 12 months.  I am invigorated by the thought of a new year and what opportunities it will bring.

We are constantly presented with chances to redefine ourselves.  We know when one of these  occasions will present itself  as every January 1st we are confronted with the prospect of a new beginning, even if it is falsely placed there by a seemingly arbitrary date on a calendar.  This date has been so imbued with the essence of this new beginning that it has begun to actually carry meaning.  And so I do embrace it as a time to change things about myself that I want to change and to redefine my life in ways that are true to the vision that I have of myself, as opposed to the reality of who I am.

Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams. Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential. Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what it is still possible for you to do.    –Pope John XXIII

So here’s a taste of my resolutions – who I want to be in this new year that will not be in so many ways defined my the challenges that the fading year presented.  These are not goals.  I cannot measure them but they are statements about who I want to be in the new year, from the inside out. These are all “I will” statements because they are about actions that I will take, things that I can change without other people.  They aren’t perfect and are sometimes a bit redundant, but the emphasis is there because I know it’s what I need.

  • I will improve my inner environment so that its reflection in my outer environment will be beautiful.
  • I will pause in the moments when I recognize that I am not giving the most of myself to those around me and change my actions.
  • I will see the best in my children and my husband.
  • I will be decisive and forceful about important decisions in my life.
  • I will trust myself.
  • I will  believe that I can do it.
  • I will take life one moment at a time and strive to not feel overwhelmed.
  • I will purge things from my life that are not constructive.
  • I will understand how important my role is as a mother and will fulfill that role – inventing with my husband the life that we envision for our family.
  • I will see the beauty in the blessings that are all around me.
  • I will intentionally create my life.

Here’s Disney’s take on Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite from Fantasia 2000.  It very much inspires me when thinking about the new year.

Categories: Motivation, Stories from My Life | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

